Media and tech initiative Gold House celebrated its 2023 A100 Honorees with the 2nd Annual Gold Gala last Saturday, May 6. 

Over 700 multicultural luminaries and leaders came together at the Music Center in Los Angeles to celebrate the honor of 100 Asian and Pacific Islanders who had a profound impact on the culture and society of the last year as voted by many top Asian Pacific leaders in the creative, business and non-profit spaces. Award Winning actress from Marvel Studios Ms. Marvel Imani Vellani received her first New Gold Award for a rising leader who redefined the norm for the Asian-Pacific community. 

The Gold Ally Award was awarded to actress, producer, and director Eva Longoria for her outstanding leadership to fellow multi-hyphenate artists across the cultural industries and for her exemplification of creative excellence, unflappable consistency, and unyielding activism.

Next are the honorees of the A1 Award recognizing the most impactful in their field last year including Netflix’s chief content officer Bela Bajaria for Entertainment and Media, Vanity Fair’s editor-in chief Radhika Jones for Fashion and Lifestyle, and author, director, producer and trans rights advocate Geena Rocero for Activism and Journalism. 

ALSO READ:  Review: 'Stop Asian Hate' Spreads Message Of Love, Togetherness

The Gold Icon Award was awarded to the cast and creators of the 2023 Academy Award winner for Best Picture, Everything Everywhere All At Once for commemorating the film’s exceptional achievements for the Asian-Pacific community. It was accepted by actors Ke Huy Quan, Stephanie Hsu, Harry Shum Jr., and producer Johnathan Wang. 

The all-new Gold Generation Award, exemplifying a film’s ongoing impact across generations, was awarded to the cast and crew of The Joy Luck Club celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. It was received by Executive producer Janet Yang (Producer and President, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences) and actors Ming-Na-Wen, Rosalind Chao, Laurent Tom, Tamlyn Tomita, Lisa Lu, and many more. 

The Gold Legend Award for lifetime achievement was presented to Panda Express’ co-founders and executive officers Andrew Cherng and Peggy Cherng, East Wing Bank Chief Executive Officer Dominic Ng, and Lea Salonga, Tony Award winning actress and Mulan’s singing voice in the 1998 animated film Mulan.

Presenters for the event included actors Daniel Dae Kim and Poorna Jagannathan, the cast of Joy Ride including Ashley Park, Stephanie Hsu and Sherry Cola, Queer Eye host and fashion expert Tan France, CJ Group’s Milky Lee, host and producer Jeannie Mai Jenkins, Y-Combinator Chief Executive Officer Garry Tan, fashion designer Prabal Gurung, producer Nina Yang Bongiovi, Sweetgreen co-founder and chief brand officer Nathaniel Ru, DoorDash co-founder and chief product officer Stanley Tan, and Cymbal and Gold House Ventures’ co-founder Eric Feng. 

ALSO READ:  My Hopeful Picks for This Year’s Oscars Season

During the event, Gold House debuted the next phase in their cultural-changing initiative known as Gold Bridge. 

Gold House is an initiative that, according to its description, “strengthens and catapults communities across the globe to strive for a better future for all people of Asian-Pacific descent.” Gold House creates many programs with the goal of uniting, investing in and promoting AAPI creators and companies.


Please follow and like us: